We are delighted to announce the appointment of Selwyn Metcalfe and Aaron Foley to our Taranaki Foundation Board of Trustees, following the AGM on 29 November 2023. Their addition to the board strengthens the Foundation’s mission of fostering community growth and prosperity in the Taranaki region.

Commenting on the appointments, Phil Hinton, Chair of the Taranaki Foundation, said, “We warmly welcome Selwyn and Aaron as they join our Taranaki Foundation family. Their diverse expertise and deep dedication to the region will undoubtedly enhance our efforts in driving positive change. The Taranaki Foundation’s strong reputation is a testament to the generous support of our community and the diligent work of past and present Trustees and staff, who bring valuable expertise and extensive local networks.”

A core priority for the Foundation has been ensuring comprehensive representation across the Taranaki region. The addition of Aaron and Selwyn further advances this goal, with their invaluable professional and community experience, particularly from South Taranaki.

Selwyn Metcalfe

Selwyn Metcalfe brings over four decades of real estate experience and a strong commitment to the region, rooted in his family’s farming background. Respected for his significant community and sporting contributions, Selwyn was honoured with the Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit in 2005. He has served on various local, national, and international committees.

Reflecting on his appointment, Selwyn expressed, “Serving as a Trustee of the Taranaki Foundation is both an honour and a privilege. Witnessing the foundation’s growth and the expanding impact of its community grants, I look forward to working alongside our team of Trustees.  I am committed to leveraging my knowledge and skills to inspire and connect for the betterment and prosperity of the Taranaki community.”

Aaron Foley

Aaron Foley, Principal at Halliwells in Hāwera, brings extensive experience in commercial management and legal practice to the Board. He is eager to positively impact the community and contribute to meaningful initiatives that benefit the everyday people of Taranaki. “I am passionate about philanthropy and want to aid others in fostering a positive change that will enable them to leave a lasting legacy of generosity and compassion within the community.”

The Taranaki Foundation emphasises the importance of community involvement and philanthropy in its mission. Phil Hinton added, “Our Foundation thrives on the generosity and dedication of our community. With Selwyn and Aaron on board, we are well-equipped to continue our journey of inspiring positive change.”

The new Trustees will join current board members Phil Hinton (Chair), Bryce Barnett, Mark Bowden, Phil Hinton, Dan Radcliffe, Loren Anderson, Marilyn Davies, Ainsley Luscombe and Kirsty Jamieson (Board Observer).

  • For more information about our Trustees and their backgrounds, visit our Trustee page